PUBLIC CAMERAS ARE NECESSARY IN HOBBS COMMISSION MEETING

Contact the author of the petition

This discussion topic has been automatically created of petition PUBLIC CAMERAS ARE NECESSARY IN HOBBS COMMISSION MEETING.

Dennis Barcuch
The author of this petition

2015-07-22 20:39

I wanted to be able to watch my commission in action, no matter:
1. what time of day
2. What my location is

I know very strongly that my commissioners will greatly benefit from easy community feedback.  I don't now feel connected to them, nor do they know what I think about any subject in discussion.

Staci Barcuch

#2 Homeschooling Mom of Two

2015-07-22 22:26

I am a wife and a mother of two daughters- a seven year old and a four year old. 

In addition to household responsibilities, I am also a business owner and a homeschooling mom.  As part of our homeschooling environment last year, Commissioner Mullins gave our local homeschooling group a tour of city hall and the commission chambers.  It opened up a venue for us to discuss city government with our children- but not a chance to see it in action. 

I will freely admit that I am part of the growing trend of people who aren't involved in government because, quite honestly, I don't feel like my vote matters and I don't have the time or the patience to deal with the stigma of "politics".  I see and hear this often in my circle. 

City Commission meetings happen in the evening- which corresponds with dinner, bath time and tucking in the kids for the evening so I can catch a small break and re-group for the next day.  Government isn't easy to be involved with and sadly, should a situation arise, I don't even know who my Commissioner is.  Mom and/or Dad isn't involved? Chances are "we" aren't raising our children to be involved, either.  Sadly, that extends to local, state and federal government leadership moving forward to the future.