Save Southport Art

Contact the author of the petition

This discussion topic has been automatically created of petition Save Southport Art.

2011-05-16 02:53

If it wasn't for my foundation course at southport college I doubt I would have the successful business I have today. I am a self employed designer maker based at the manchester craft and design centre. Brilliant course, brilliant tutors, great facilities. I always say it was my favorite year in education! Save Southport Art!!!

2011-05-16 10:28

Life is like a coat, when the stitches holding seams together unravel there are big holes and important things drop through

2011-05-16 21:00

I attended Southport for 3 years, It was a truly memorable experience, the fact that Southport college (which was founded as a creative college) is even considering closing down the Art Department is a total disgrace, those responsible for this idea should be ashamed.

2011-05-17 12:33

This is outrageous. The wonderful, talented staff have to struggle as it is with their work load and administration. What the powers that be do not understand is that teaching art is far more complicated, time consuming and emotionally draining than most other academic subjects. Students need far more 1:1 time and guidance. Southport art staff are nationally held in esteem as they produce confident, original and dynamic work and potential artists and designers as opposed to the more mundane generic work of competing establishments. It would be a real tragedy to ruin this and make their job any harder than it already is.
Lynne Winstanley
May 2011

2011-05-17 16:13