Alert ! French conservators-restorers are in danger !

Contact the author of the petition

This discussion topic has been automatically created of petition Alert ! French conservators-restorers are in danger !.

2016-03-22 13:55

To support my colleagues in Europe and advocate for continued high standards of education, training and ethical practice in the conservation of cultural materials

2016-03-22 14:02

Especially in this time period when so many historical artifacts and sites are at serious risk of annihilation by religious zealots, it is most important to work steadily on preserving all art and artifacts around the world in museums and in plein air.

2016-03-22 16:47

I signed this petition because I am a graduate trained conservator and I understand how competitive it is to attain the proper education to do the job with sensitivity. We need that effort recognized and valued. I am a Fellow of the American Institute for Conservation and I am proud of both my hand skills and academic achievement. Both are vital for this profession!

2016-03-22 17:01

I'm an objects and paintings conservator with over 30 years of experience in Germany, Denmark, the Netherlands and the USA. Ever since I started in this profession there has been the threat of diminishing the profession for the sake of financial reasons and a cheaper workforce . (Restaurator im Handwerk in Germany for example). This means that I will always support efforts to avoid this fate for fellow conservators, no matter where they are located.
However, I also think that an even cheaper workforce would be welcome by quite a few organisations to reduce the expenses of conservation care for exhibitions and the like. Sad as it is!

Much success with this effort!

Bettina Landgrebe

2016-03-23 05:18

As an art history professor and painter, I appreciate the special knowledge, experience and skills required to maintain artworks of the past for the future.

This post has been removed by its writer (Show details)