NMMU PETITION: Unlawful Protests violating our Right to Education

Contact the author of the petition

This discussion topic has been automatically created of petition NMMU PETITION: Unlawful Protests violating our Right to Education.

CJ

#76 As a law student I make no assumptions, but public opinion doesn't have a law degree.

2016-09-27 09:39

As a law student I have some background with regards the protection of competing rights. Our Constitution enshrines these competing rights, namely Freedom of Expression/Movement/Association v Education, in the Bill of Rights. The fact that SASCO and certain other political elements are abusing a genuine political agenda and exploiting the legal ignorance of the few cronies that they control to gain political mileage in the run-up towards student governance elections at the university means that the latter right (Education) must reign supreme in this standoff between equally protected rights.

2016-09-27 09:43

Protesting students should be expelled so that students who want to work can do so in peace. They are privileged to be able to attend university at all. Nothing in life is free unfortunately.

The unlawful acts of these hooligans must be ended,

Because I think that these protests are taking it too far. Enough study time has been lost through protests. If they continue then the country will experience a lot of economical damage that will in my understanding lead to the opposite of what the protesters want to achieve. I am for free education, but I strongly disagree with the way it is achieved at this stage.

2016-09-27 09:44

To put an end to the unlawful protests to enable us non-protesting students to return to university.

Anonymous

2016-09-27 09:45