Reinstate Mr. Thomas Leahy

Contact the author of the petition

This discussion topic has been automatically created of petition Reinstate Mr. Thomas Leahy.

2015-11-04 00:24

I don't think Mr. Leahy did anything wrong. Maybe he should have sent home letters about showing the film and letting parents decide whether they wanted their child to opt out, but truly I don't think many would have chosen to opt out. This is definitely not worth his job, especially when he has plans to retire at the end of this year.

#27 Re:

2015-11-04 00:26

#6: -   so true!

#28 Kansas schools

2015-11-04 01:05

i grew up in Argonia and I have also seen the film in question. It is a very short film and it shows people how hard it is to be different.  People are bullied daily for not being society's view of "normal".  I am a pediatric psychiatric nurse and I see what the results of bullying can do to kids.  If they only issue was because it dealt with an alternate sexual reality then your community is filled with hypocrites and fools who don't deserve a forward thinking, compassionate individual to teach your children to love and respect others for their differences, not to grind out the life in those that are different!  Oh and I was bullied as a child and a teen, but I am a very strong person, with a great deal of faith in myself and who had a very loving family who supported me.  I also moved to a much bigger area where differences aren't that noticeable. Shame on you Conway Springs for taking your community backwards for your own selfish beliefs, allow your children to be taught love and equality not hate.

#29 8th grade!!!!

2015-11-04 01:58